days gone by - days yet to be

Monday, Mar. 21, 2005 - 11:27 p.m.


Wow, there are a lot of pissed off D-Landers right about now...


So, yeah... our images are all gone, we can't access our private entries, and our archived entries have gone in hiding... but seriously, it isn't the first time the servers crashed. Maybe not this badly, but it'll get fixed, it always does.

Work went surprisingly well. After an initial bumpy start (Uber manager being kinda a dickhead) things got a lot better. It took him royally fucking up a recipe for him to calm down the macho ego bullshit!
We have cards that show EVERY single item and how we make it, hence the name: Recipe Cards. I asked if he would be able to make Fiesta Salsa by just using the recipe off the card. His response: "I can read a recipe, I used to be a chef."

Calm down there stallion... damn!

So, I left him to it... and didn't tell him ANYTHING. Didn't show him the ingredients, where to get anything... NOTHING. Two can play the "I Know Everything Better Than You" game. Because that's what I encountered all morning: "I know" to everything I tried to explain or show him. Um... NO, YOU DON'T KNOW! That's why you're here, to L. E. A. R. N.

Possibly long rambling story short: he fucked up the recipe so badly, I had to throw all of it away. Wrong ingredients. When I explained to him why I had to throw it out, he started making excuses. To which I replied, "(Uber Manager) we're all here to help you learn and train, but if you don't ask questions about things you don't know, we'll continue throwing out food and you won't learn anything." My attempt at peace seemed to work, because I actually saw him smile for the first time all day. And after that, he was more talkative, he asked questions and we all started joking around with each other. Crisis diverted, for the moment, at least. As I said yesterday, only time will tell.
From what I experienced today, this guy is just full of hot air, I don't think he's gonna be able to cut it.

On a side note, a few of the employees that worked this morning wanted to be the ones that told uber manager how badly he'd fucked up the Salsa. I let them joke amongst themselves for a few minutes until I interjected, "Um, guys... he can fire you." That shut them all up, pretty damn quick.
I think his problem was he was just as nervous today as I was. We both felt this overwhelming urge to show each other up. Although, I must admit when I found out how badly he messed up that recipe I wanted to do a little jig right on the counter. Neener Neener Neener. Cuz in the "showing up" contest, I definitely came out ahead. I was nothing but gracious and humble, and treated him as well as I possibly could, until the little "I used to be a chef" comment came up. You could say I set him up to fail, by not "helping" him with the recipe, but he asked for it. And in the end, that's what really he really needed. To be knocked off that high horse he had himself on, and have me be right there with some contrived nicety to help him back up (just not up on the same horse). So, a big thank you to KP for telling me to let uber manager see the side of me that everybody likes, not the side of me that felt betrayed and hurt. I hope things work out, I really do.




What the cats are doing: Sebastian is REALLY annoying me. He has me trained to pick him up when he meows, but he just jumps down and does it again

What I should be doing right now: Sleeping, Uber Manager and I get to go at it, again, tomorrow morning.

How much weight I' ve lost:


1 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be