days gone by - days yet to be

Friday, Jun. 10, 2005 - 11:35 p.m.


A Day of Celebration...

Yesterday, the 9th, was my mom's birthday. My little sister (KJB)came from Denver and we made her dinner. We had a BBQ and I made homemade potato salad, a pasta salad, a fruit salad, and JQ BBQed Hotdogs, Hamburgers, and Chicken. And all the while it rained... and HAILED!



But as soon as everyone arrived it stopped and the sun came out for a little bit and we had a great evening. We ate and laughed and played board games. It was really enjoyable! My older sister came for about 10 minutes and had a pissy fit, which she is prone to doing, and left. None of us cared... it made for a much more enjoyable evening, by far! My little sister even went so far as to say we all needed to make a conscious decision and exclude her from family functions like this for the time being, because she is so miserable to be around! I'm starting to agree with KJB! My older sister can make a person feel unwelcome in their own house...
Well, I left off on May 3, yesterday, so that's where I'll start today. Not to worry, most of the month of May consists of job hunting, so its only the first week of May that anything great happened... May 3rd was the day we off loaded our rental truck. It took us 3 days to load it, with the help of four other people, and only 5 hours to off load it, by ourselves. We cleaned it and returned it on May 4th.
Now, May 5th was the day JQ and I got married. So, now I am WQ and not WB... hehehe. We went to the Justice of the Peace. KJB (who drove up from Denver at the busiest time of her teaching career, being that it was the last couple weeks and she was planning music programs for her students) My Mom (also one of the busiest times for her, as she works at the University, and its also the end of the school year) and my step dad (who left work early to be there with us) all showed up. You wanna know who didn't show up, even though she had absolutely jack shit to do??? Yeah, my older sister. The bitch... We all went to dinner afterward, and that's when my older sister finally showed up! (When I get the pictures from my Mom and KJB, I'll post them)
Being married doesn't feel any different from how JQ and I have been living for the past five years, so I don't envision anything drastically changing. And so far it hasn't...

I got to go see my brother on May 28th. He's in prison right now and I've only been able to visit him 3 times in the past five years. Which has been tough. He and I have always been very close. I went with JQ, down to Denver on the 27th and stayed with KJB, at her apartment. We stayed until Sunday afternoon and KJB came back to town with us and stayed until Tuesday morning! It felt so good to have my sister with me! There was more drama with the older sister, but nothing that I cared to let ruin my wonderful weekend with my little sister and little brother. We had a great time!

Then on the 31st, I actually started my temp job. I'd it for over two weeks, but I had to wait until the training class to actually start. It was a total fuck up right from the start! First off, I was supposed to be in a different class, so when that had been all straightened out, I'd missed a whole day of training. The info in the class they put me in was irrelevant to the class I was supposed to be in. So, I had to play catch up the whole next day and really had no idea of what I was doing. Then, the hours I was given by the temp agency differed drastically from the hours this place actually gave me. But I just put up with it. I needed the money, I needed the hours, so I just accepted it. Then, We were given three days off, right after our training class, with no hands on training, and expected to come back with full knowledge retention and start off full bore, doing this job... yeah, whatever... I didn't even have my schedule yet, at this time, I was supposed to get it when I came back in after these three days off. THEY DIDN'T EVEN HAVE IT READY YET!! I had to wait all afternoon before I could even meet with the woman that did the schedule, and she had to put me on the schedule right then and there. (this place was full of chickens with their heads cut off, I swear!)THEN, after all this other bullshit, I was taken aside by my lead agent and told I had no log in password for the system they used and one wouldn't be provided until the following Monday... I had to go home (2 hours early, because in their minds it was a waste to pay me if I wasn't actually going to be doing anything) and not return to work for 7 days... I quit. I went to the department head and told him everything that had been happening over the past week, how much of a royal cluster fuck I thought this place was, and I quit. I did NOT move back to Colorado, to work in a place like the one I just left! At least with my old job, my salary justified most of it. This pathetic job was only $8.00/hr. No thank you!!! But don't worry, I already had another job, that I start on June 15th. I was planning on staying at the temp job just for this week and quitting anyway, but they beat me to it, I guess. It would have been nice to have that extra paycheck, but I'm not really losing any sleep over it. And once the 15th gets here, I'll be right back into the old schedule of things. But along with that 50 plus hours of work is 3 weeks paid vacation a year, possible $1000 bonus every month for management, Medical/Dental/Optical Insurance, all of which I never had with my old job. The pay is less than my old job, but I was quoted a salary with a "to start" incentive attached to it. And just what am I doing, you may ask? Well, I need to clarify a few things before I divulge that tid bit of information.
First: I have 16 years Food Service experience, 8 of which are in management.
Second: When I moved here, I tried to get a job out of the Food Service industry, because working at T@co Hell made me loathe my job!
Thirdly: That wasn't going to happen... I had too little experience in anything but, and no one wanted to hire a 30 year old with no experience.
I applied everywhere, but the only jobs I was offered was for minimum wage. One woman offered me $6.91/hr to bag groceries at the local super market. A market that has a full deli and bakery (all of which I have years of experience in doing) I laughed at her... I couldn't help it. Luckily, I had already been hired for this temp job or I might have just taken it. I was becoming desperate, so desperate in fact, I applied for a management job at a fast food restaurant (Wendy's) I worked in years ago... and I got it. Three interviews and 2 cities later, I was hired. I didn't even have to go through that much when I applied and interviewed for a job at a bank. But it is something I know I can do with my eyes closed, so there is none of the worry or stress that comes with starting a new job, and I'm not even the General Manger anymore, there will be someone else that gets to take the blame when things go wrong.
I am relieved... a little disappointed I couldn't make a go in a different field, but relieved nonetheless. I have a job and one I know I will excel in. Things are looking up!




What the cats are doing: Sleeping and lounging and relaxing... whatever they want to do.

What I should be doing right now: I still need to set up the bathrooms, I have three now, and haven't fixed them up yet.

How much weight I' ve lost:


1 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be