days gone by - days yet to be

Friday, Feb. 18, 2005 - 11:15 p.m.

So, asshead did show up...

"You have really good knowledge retention, that was proven when you went to training a year and a half ago, but the problem is passing that knowledge on."

Thankfully, he explained exactly what he meant by that, because I was starting to get a little offended.

"You cannot expect to train every single new employee by yourself. You just won't be able to. You need good shift managers and crew trainers to help you out. You're just going to get overwhelmed and frustrated and start giving up."

Gee... in the two years I've known this guy, I think this is the most astute thing I've ever heard him say. Because I am frustrated... And I do feel like giving up!
Our little meeting went a lot better than I expected. He quizzed me on the things he needed to, and I answered every question like I was reading straight out of the training documentation. He could find no fault in my "knowledge retention" (he's still a tool, though) I do have to order a few new items in order for our store to be fully "trained" to serve the Big Bell Value Meal. One of the items is a pretty big piece of equipment, and I have to get it in the store within the next thirty days. The Owner called right after our meeting, so I had the chance to bring all this up. At first he didn't want to go for it... I had to explain it wasn't an option, we had to have it. So, now I have to spend most of Monday on the phone, finding out ordering numbers and pricing and how much everything will cost, all said and done. Knowing the Owner, he'll try to get a used one, that's already falling apart -just like half the equipment I have now. Every piece of equipment we received, when the store first opened over a year ago, was used and had been sitting in a warehouse for years. It probably ended up costing more money to get them up and running again, then it would have been for him to just buy new ones. Also take into consideration how many times I've had to call for repair service because they stop working, on a routine basis. In fact my heating cabinet is starting to die, too. I have to call about that on Monday, also. crap.
I, also, told the Owner that I couldn't find my work keys. He was kinda upset until I told him I would take all the money home with me each night, until I found my keys and if I didn't find them in the next couple days, I'd call to get the locks changed. He calmed down when he realized I wasn't going to leave any money in the store over night. He's actually a lot easier to talk to about things like this, than his daughter. She goes on and on about it and makes a point to make you feel stupid and small. But all I wanted to do was cover my ass, just in case something does happen. But if I can't find my keys in the next few days, I definitely will change the locks on the safe. So, right now I have about $3000.00 in cash in my bag. hehehe... anybody wanna party?? I'm kidding, I'd never... um... no, I wouldn't... hehe. Two Christmas' ago, I had a week's worth of deposits amassed, because the banking machine we use to make deposits was broken. We have to get a receipt as proof of deposit, so I was going to take all this money into the bank to get hand written receipts. This was a SHIT load of money... Christmas is a very busy time for us. My little sister was with me, and in all seriousness, she looked at me and said, "I hear Costa Rica is nice this time of year." I laughed, but for about .003 seconds I contemplated it. It was a blink of a thought. Then it was gone.
I have too guilty of a conscience. I've never even tried to steal anything. I think its because my brother stole so much stuff. The first time I remember him getting caught was on a Sunday afternoon, after church. We all would go to Target or K-Mart and shop with my Mom. Almost every Sunday we did this. (My Mom tried to keep us as far away from my father as possible... but that's a whole different entry, I haven't even attempted to write yet) On this particular Sunday, we went to both K-Mart and Target, (this was before there was a Walmart on every corner) and my little brother got caught at Target trying to steal a cassette tape. I can't remember which one, but what I do remember was the reason he was caught was because he was trying to open up that huge plastic black rectangle thing it was kept in (remember those?) with a pocket knife. Now, my brother didn't own a pocket knife... And when my Mom questioned where he got it, he finally admitted he had stolen it from K-mart earlier that day. We joke about it now, him getting caught trying to steal something that you're opening with something you already stole. And everyone thought it was harmless... Just a 9 year old, being a 9 year old. If they only knew my brother would escalate to breaking and entering before he was finally locked up, maybe they wouldn't have dismissed it all so easily. I recently asked him why he did it, when he'd had a job and was making money for himself. He said he wanted to see if he could get away with it. That's pretty fucked up, I think. I told him, "Nope, you didn't get away with it..." and now he's in prison, for a very long time.




What the cats are doing: Hounding me while I eat my cavatappi.

What I should be doing right now: Going to bed, I slept like shit and only had about 4 hours of sleep last ... I mean, this morning

How much weight I' ve lost:


3 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be