days gone by - days yet to be

Tuesday, Mar. 22, 2005 - 11:47 p.m.


And yet, its still all my fault...


I sent Uber manager home after only a few hours at work. I was sent an e-mail by the Owner's daughter to go over things with him, like who our vendors are, phone numbers, stuff like that:

DEAR WENDY:
I AM GOING TO TRY AND GET UP TO THE STORE ON TUES., 3/22.
(uber manager) WILL START ON 3/21. ARE HIS UNIFORMS EXPECTED TO ARRIVE?
IT IS BEST TO GET HIM STARTED WITH BASIC KNOWLEDGE AROUND OUR STORE AS HE WILL BE TRAINING ON 3/23. PLS. HAVE KEYS READY FOR HIM, INTRO. HIM AT CITIZENS, OUR PURCHASING DATES, OUR VENDORS, ETC.
I AM HOPING THAT THINGS WORK OUT WELL WITH (uber manager)... AS WE HAVE DISCUSSED, THE SITUATION AT TACO CANNOT CONTINUE AS IT HAS BEEN, THAT IS FROM TACO BELL AND MY FATHER... IF THE STORE MAKES THE NECESSARY CHANGES TO AFFECT PROFITABILITY WITH (uber manager) AS A HELP TO YOU... WE WILL ALL BENEFIT.
I AM CONFIDENT THAT YOU 2 WILL BE ABLE TO WORK TOGETHER FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE STORE AND YOURSELVES.
HOPE TO SEE YOU ON TUES.
(Owner's daughter)


I had three pages of stuff I went over with him, but it appeared to me like he wasn't really paying all that much attention, so I rushed through most of the paperwork, gave him a tour of the store, had him fill out his I-9 and W-4, showed him all the pertinent information that a "new hire" is shown, and sent him on his way. I had a shit load of stuff to catch up on, and didn't need him hanging on my every move. Well, uber manager must have talked with the Owner's daughter because I got a phone call from her on my way to the post office (to mail the end of week paperwork for work) berating me for the "silliness" of sending a "salaried manager" home early. I was told he had to work full shifts and needed to learn as much as he could before going to his training. (which has actually been postponed a few days, as the ever efficient asshead didn't get all the paperwork in order in time for uber manager to start training). Now, when all this crap first came up, about hiring a new manager, I specifically said, I wanted the new manager to train in the training store, FIRST, before even setting foot inside my store. I didn't need him picking up any bad habits from my store that would facilitate further failing inspections. Apparently I was speaking Chinese, because that is not what's happening. And now I have to work with him tomorrow night, showing him what... I don't know.
He really is kinda a goober. And I realized this morning, he stutters when I ask him pointed questions. I know I can be a little intimidating... I've been told that by an old boss I had in Colorado, during a performance review, for one. But I can't help it. Its not intentional. I've made employees cry before, also not intentional (AT ALL) but when I am focused on something, and I know what has to be accomplished, I've always gone full bore. I really don't think he's gonna cut it. If I intimidate him, JUST wait until he gets a load of the Owner. As of now, he's only had to deal with the Owner's daughter, and she's deceptively accommodating... until you fuck up. If he can't do what he claims he can, in regard to the labor percentage and food cost percentage, he's gonna have another thing coming. Poor guy, he doesn't even know what he's gotten himself into.

I'm off to bed... goodnight D-Land.




What the cats are doing: Lounging, all over the living room floor.

What I should be doing right now: Not much. Maybe sleeping, but I'm not super tired right now.

How much weight I' ve lost:


0 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be