days gone by - days yet to be

Friday, Apr. 08, 2005 - 3:26 p.m.


I've been having some problems with this damn computer... it hates me.



No entry for the past two days because the computer didn't want to work. I am very low on resources, apparently. Too many pictures and music files I think. I'm gonna need to do some Spring Cleaning in the computer, if I want it to keep doing what I want it to do.

I had a lunch meeting with the Owner's daughter yesterday. (yeah, it was supposed to be my day off) I had a slew of things to go over with her, but she didn't really pay that much attention. How do I know this? By the telephone call I received at 10 am this morning asking me questions about what we discussed yesterday. Questions I'd answered for her yesterday. And answered in the e-mail I sent her 3 days ago:

(Owner's daughter),
I will fax the invoice when I get to work tonight. I also have no idea what the Checking Deposit is for, but I will also go to the bank and ask them if they can explain it to me.

Just a few more things:

1. (uber manager) picked up his other training books on Tuesday, and I've spoken to him a few times by phone. He said training is going well. Do we have an estimate on when he will be done with his training? An actual date?
2. On to the CER inspection and corrections, (all of these things are on the "COACHING" page of our CER) I called Primesource about our dish racks. (customer rep.) is no longer employed there (she's the one that helped me order them in the first place) So, I'm having to deal with the girls that took over her work. I called March 29th and spoke with (new customer rep), and again on the 30th and spoke with (new customer rep), but (a different customer rep) is the one that is actually in charge of our account. When I spoke to (new customer rep) on the 30th, she stated the situation was under investigation and they are trying to determine when the racks were ordered and if they are still covered under warranty. If I haven't heard back from her by this afternoon, I will call her again on Monday.
3. The reach in shelves (in the front food line) need to be replaced for rust spots, too. I called about it and spoke with (customer rep) (ex 6***). She is trying to find out the order numbers for me, since they are not in the Primesource catalog. She said she would be calling me back tonight, after 4pm.
4. The person (Owner's nephew) talked to about the broken tile in the front of our store, NEVER contacted me, so I called (our fix it guy) instead. He came by and took a look at it, and said he'd come by the first week of April to take care of it. (he was going on vacation the day after I spoke to him)
5. We were also asked to replace the button cover panel over the toaster. I called the repair and parts number on the toaster (1-800-***-****) and was told they only accept credit card purchases (Visa. American Express, Master Card) The piece only costs $35.55 from this company. If I ordered it from Primesource, I'd have to get an entire Hinge Kit replacement, which has replacement parts I don't need, and I know costs a heck of a lot more. Probably in the $100's of dollars. So, should I order it and do a payout, or should you do it with a company credit card? The part number is: 2M******.
6. I need to know what to do about the spray nozzle in the prep sink. (the inspector) is saying we need to move the nozzle over to the dish sink, only problem is our dish rack is in the way, and we don't have sink faucet taps on every part of the three part sink. There are only 2 faucet taps with long necks that bend, allowing us to fill all 3 parts of the sink. Please let me know if there is someone I can call to help me out with this.
7. The lower underside of the front counter is peeling off the laminate because customers rub against it with their feet. Do we know where the laminate came from and if I can get it replaced or repaired? (the inspector) wrote this on our coaching page, also.
8. Things that have already been fixed:
*The 1-800 PRC sticker has been ordered, received and installed on the third register.
*The Fiesta Taco salad slats for the menu board have been ordered, I'm just waiting for them to arrive and install.
*(refrigeration repair guy) came out and re-calibrated our walk-in cooler and our cold line. I installed little (extra) thermometers to keep an eye on the temp. They are functional.
These are things that (asshead) suggested after our CER:
"Replace the table the Toaster sits on with a half sized heating cabinet. We need more capacity. We are stacking our tortillas in the heating cabinet we already have, because we don't have the room to do otherwise. We are not supposed to ever stack our tortillas in the heating cabinet"
"We need to order more shelves" (although I personally have no idea where we would put them)

Laptop search:

I went to the flea market and found a local business that sells laptops for $350.00. They have a real store, they just come out on Sundays to the flea market for the extra business. The woman I spoke to (the wife of the business owner) was extremely helpful and explained all the laptops have warranties and she could help us set up anything we needed on it.

As everyone begins calling back and telling me order numbers and prices, I'll e-mail you immediately. Hope all is well. I've been a little busy trying to get all this stuff in order, so sorry I haven't e-mailed sooner. Talk to you soon, Wendy


Now, I don't know about you, but that was a pretty detailed e-mail. And I even gave her print outs of the pictures of our sink set up, to explain (further) why I'm having a problem with the racks and spray nozzle. I guess I was detailed enough!?!?




What the cats are doing: Not much, sleeping the the cat hammocks. The windows are open and they are basking in the sun.

What I should be doing right now: Getting ready for work, I'm supposed to be there in about 4 minutes.

How much weight I' ve lost:


1 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be