days gone by - days yet to be

Wednesday, Sept. 25, 2002 - 1:17 p.m.

More elaboration...

Update on my job:

So, my DH never called me back. I had to call her. Three times, just to get a straight answer. She told me she explained to the owner she would never take a pay cut, and that I, meaning me, was perfectly capable in running whatever type of store he chose to replace Hotdog with. I guess I am now the General Manager of a friggin' Taco Bell. This is stupid, but its embarrassing to me. NY Hotdog/Pretzel Bakery/Cookie Jar General Manager, sure. No ones heard of these places. They have no idea what my job entails. You say Taco Bell... people think "fast food"

"Must not have graduated from High School"

"Oh, you work there."

"You work where?"

I am labeling MYSELF.

The stereo typical things all people think when they visit a fast food restaurant. Is it too vain to think this is beneath me? I know that's what the DH is thinking.

"Get out before my reputation is completely tarnished."

She's in her 40's and comes from a career of Insurance Fraud. She'd had dealings with the owner with some insurance claim a few years ago, and with his dealings with her, he decided he wanted her to head up his new stores in Rhode Island. She always says, "I'm his eyes and ears when he's not here." He took her from her high paying job, to come work in a restaurant, a cafe, and a bakery. This woman doesn't even own pots and pans, because she doesn't know how to cook. Everything she's learned and knows, I taught her. The ironic thing is, I swore I wouldn't train someone to come in and make more money than me. But she was humble in the fact that she knew she didn't have the first clue on what to do. She received no help from Home Office in New York, she was thrust into this blindfolded, relying on the employees to help her. I was the only one that would. And because of that, she and I have a great understanding. She is the first one that will admit she is lost or doesn't know what to do. But she only admits it to me. She comes to me, when there is a problem and asks me advice on how to fix it. And now I am losing her. All for pride and money. Don't think I didn't get anything out of our relationship. It was NOT one sided. I benefited from her, as much as she benefited from me. She taught me as much about the business aspect of this venture, as I taught her about the food aspect. A year ago I could have cared less about my sales analysis, labor costs, food percentages, net profit. I was running someone else's business, not mine. But when the merger between Pretzel Bakery and the Cookie Jar happened, that was all me. I was there when the Health Inspector came, I was there when the Building Inspector came, I was there when the Fire Marshal came. I was there when we got our Hood certificate, our DNR license... I'm the one that deals with management when they come to inspect our stores. These are my stores, in every sense of the word. And there is an immense pride associated with them. Even down to the recipes we use for our cookie dough. Oh, yeah, they're fresh baked, made right in our store. Those are my recipes. I created them, from trial and error. BUT Taco Bell... ugh! There's nothing to say about Taco Bell. I'm no longer a teenager in need of an after school job. If I wanted that, I'd go work at Wendy's. I was a manager there when I was 19... I'm way past 19 now...




What the cats are doing:

What I should be doing right now:

How much weight I' ve lost:


0 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be