days gone by - days yet to be

Thursday, Sept. 19, 2002 - 11:28 p.m.

So, to elaborate on my last entry, Best Buy is the DEVIL!!!! I went to Best Buy last night and bought way too much stuff, but it was stuff I was planning on getting. Just not all at once... One of my wish list items was a CD burner. I've been wanting to install one for quite a while, so I splurged and bought one. It was a Yamaha and even had a groovy laser that etched words onto the CDs you burned. So, I get home, wicked excited, and install that bad boy all by my rockin' self. By now, its past 11:30pm and I'm getting tired, but my excitement out weighs my fatigue, so I push on. I check all my connections, check my device manager, make sure everything is running at optimum level, and proceed to run a test as instructed by the installing software. But when the drawer opens, it only opens halfway, resulting in small panic. I use the emergency release "hole" and get the drawer opening and shutting all the way. so this is me thinking it was just "too" new and needed a little loosening. Then I place the supplied CD-R in the drive and click BURN. The drive opens and an error appears on the screen. "Medium not recognized" "Please insert disc" etc. etc. etc... I know I installed everything correctly, thus resulting in BIG panic. Frustrated and too tired, I went to bed.

----------------------------

When I woke up this morning, I called Best Buy to tell them I was sold a bad device. They had no problem with my returning it, and that's exactly what I did. Problem is, Best Buy is almost 30 minutes away, and I had to work at 11:30am. But it gets returned, I get the new box, with the new Yamaha CD burner, and proceed to reinstall it. Only problem is, its not a Yamaha. Its a Yamaha box, its Yamaha software, its a Yamaha instruction manual, but it is NOT a Yamaha CD burner. It was some other brand, as my device manager was so quick to tell me. Needless to say, another phone call to Best Buy, resulting in another trip to Best Buy. I told them I wanted a fully functioning Yamaha CD Burner installed in my PC before I left. I was told I would have to pay $49.99 for installation.

YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME!!!

I spent $550.00 the night before, made 3 trips back in less than 12 hours, and they were gonna dick me for the installation, which I could do myself, I just wanted to prevent any further visits back to Best Buy because of shitty equipment. In the end, they got their shit back and was told I was taking my business to Comp USA where the installation is free. So, now I have a SONY, which I don't mind, because it works. But if I think about it, this isn't the first time I've had bad dealings with Best Buy. When I bought my amp, for my car stereo, I went through 4 of them before I actually got one that worked properly. The installation on that one was absurdly expensive too. All in all, I will never give Best Buy my business again. They can kiss my ass! You should let them kiss your ass, too!

(I was an hour late for work, too... oops!)




What the cats are doing:

What I should be doing right now:

How much weight I' ve lost:


0 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be