days gone by - days yet to be

Friday, Jul. 15, 2005 - 11:29 p.m.


Counting your chickens before they hatch...

When I started my training at the other store, I was given a schedule, everyday, with what I'd be doing, with each section listed off with the time. For example:
6:00am -Watch salad DVD, fill out training material
7:00am -Practice Salad prep
10:00am -Break
10:30am -Front Sandwiches

Ok, you get the idea...
Well, the General Manager at the new store (RD) didn't make one of those for me, so I haven't had much direction, as far as training goes. Its been a "whatever" kinda of attitude, which I haven't minded because I've enjoyed being there so much.

BUT...

he doesn't give his managers breaks. he feels that just because he doesn't take one in the ten hours he's there, that his manager's don't need to take one either. We kinda got into it a little yesterday, because I pissed him off. I told him its a State Law for employees to receive rest breaks, and I will NOT work 10 hours without one. He must have interpreted that as "I'm lazy and don't want to work" because he was one snippety bitch for the rest of the afternoon. I had to call him in the office and ask him what I'd done that had pissed him off so badly, because he was being downright rude to me, and I told him so. His response, " I'm gonna have to figure out a way to get around this whole break thing."

Um... WHAT?!?!?! Like this is a brand new concept, and I'm the only one asking for it.

He felt like I had "thrown the State Law thing" in his face and if I didn't get breaks I was going to report it. I told him, I don't need to take 30 minute breaks, but I do need at least a 15 minute break every 4 hours or so. My GOD!!! I work ten straight hours! And he fucking pouted because I asked to take a quick smoke break.

I'm sorry you feel all holier than thou because you don't smoke, you fucking idiot! If I could go sit in the office for an hour to do paperwork, instead of standing on my feet for 10 fucking hours, maybe I wouldn't ask for a 15 minute break! God forbid I ask to use the bathroom!"

I waited until about 3pm until I asked for a break, today. I told RD that if I was going to respect his wishes and NOT ask for a break, then he needed to remember to give me one. He sent me on three 10 minute breaks, but I could tell it just about gave him an aneurysm.

Quick back story on RD... he's almost 30, single and still lives with his Mom. To call him anal, obsessive compulsive and slightly autistic (he literally "rocks" back and forth while he's sitting or standing in place) would be too kind. But, I've known RD for almost 12 years. I worked with him when I was at Wendy's, before. He was a friend, someone I used to hang out with. I do not know what has transpired in the past ten years, but he is really in his own little shell.

THEN

The Owner came by... whom I've had nothing but fond memories of, for the past 10 years. He was like a jolly uncle, that everybody loved to be around. Well, the past ten years must have done something to him, too, because he is a mean asshole now. I was pretty much called a whiny bitch, because I was trying to explain how different the two stores were from each other. I explained how nice every one was at the new store and how welcomed I was made to feel. I was then told, to paraphrase: "We are adults and managers, if you have a problem with employees, talk to the manager, otherwise people are just going to hear you whining about things." He also assumed that because I was saying negative things about the other store, that I didn't like JT (the other General Manager). I tried to tell the Owner, I had no problem with JT, that I liked JT, it was the regular "crew members" that were awful. Anything I said, he took defensively, and shot back some snippy comment. I wasn't attacking him or his stores, I was trying to say something nice about RD's store and crew.

I'm just gonna keep my mouth shut! And enjoy my time at this store while it lasts. Because I really am enjoying myself, whether or not they're enjoying me!




What the cats are doing: Hanging out...

What I should be doing right now: Sleeping, I have to be back to work at 6am.

How much weight I' ve lost:


1 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be