days gone by - days yet to be

Sunday, Sept. 29, 2002 - 11:54 p.m.

My tummy hurts.

I had a typical day at work, 9am to 7pm, with my two 10am people sauntering in around 11:30am. Trying to serve breakfast to the few people that came up was hard enough, all alone, I didn't need the uber-yuppy white bitch, that looked like she'd been sucking on a lemon most of her adult life, giving me dirty looks because she was waiting too long to be served. I ended up just telling her, "I'm all alone, its gonna be a wait, if you don't want to wait, leave, but quit giving me dirty looks. Its not helping me get everyone else that's already been waiting served any faster." She left. It made me feel so much better. What she needs is collagen lip implants, stupid sphincter mouthed bitch. And when everyone else that had been waiting heard what I'd said, they were much more easier on me. I messed up on a few orders, but thankfully everyone was understanding. Usually I just cook, so I didn't even know how to charge for half the items ordered, but oh well. And I got a lot of specialty orders; things that aren't even on the menu. Steak and Eggs. French Toast. Omelets. And to be honest, I had NO problem making them. It was something to take me out of the monotony that sucks my brain dry, day after day. I love to cook, and I love to cook good food that people love to eat. At the points where I had no customers, I would watch the customers eating. Like the guy that ordered Steak and Eggs. He wasn't even talking with his friend, just eating. He even came back to thank me for the special order. Fried steak strips with garlic, pepper, salt, a dash of paprika (for color) Saut�ed onions and green & red peppers, Fried eggs - over easy, laid on top, with a side of toasted white bread. It made my day, that he thanked me. Not many people thank the cook. And my French Toast is getting a little bit of a reputation. "I heard I could get French Toast here, is that true?" Yeah, but only if the cooks in the mood. My secret? Milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla, and cinnamon. I've even made banana French Toast. I hate the texture of bananas, but I love the flavor, so I tried mashing up over ripe bananas into the egg mixture. I thought I'd died and gone to heaven, it was so good. But that's the best part about cooking, every time you make it, you add something new, trial and error, until you come up with the best possible recipe. I never use a written recipe though, and even if I have one, I'm constantly altering it. I used to get in trouble at CSU for doing that. I was supposed to be following a very rigid structure, right down to the measurements, but I only wanted to serve food that I knew I'd eat myself, hence the minor alterations. I didn't see a problem, especially when most of my dishes would run out halfway through the meal. Maybe it was jealousy on my Chef's part. Pseudo-wanna-be cook.

Besides the fact that I was a little frazzled by serving the 30-odd breakfast customers we had, by myself, the rest of the day went by without incident. I did have a horrible stomach ache all day, though. I don't know if its stressed induced or if I'm really getting the stomach flu. I'd take the stomach flu over stress, any day. At least with the flu, it will eventually go away.




What the cats are doing:

What I should be doing right now:

How much weight I' ve lost:


0 People Love Me

days gone by - days yet to be